Steamed mantou (beetroot bun)

1_

Red mantou (buns) for everyone!

The beetroot has been sitting inside my fridge for a long time. Actually, I wanted to use beet root for baby Ian’s birthday cake, but I changed to purple sweet potato instead. So there, I decided to use beetroot for steamed bun, so that baby can eat also. 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Recipe  (makes 4) 

Plain flour 150g
Beetroot 100g (cooked and blended into puree)
1/2 tsp baking powder (aluminium free)
2 1/2 tbsp castor sugar
1 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 tsp active dry yeast
40ml warm water

 

Add dry yeast into the warm water. Stir and set aside for 5min until bubbles appear. Sift the plain flour and baking powder into a mixer bowl. Add sugar till combined. Stir in the yeast water and add in the beetroot puree and form a soft dough. (It’s sticky but do not add any flour). Knead for 5mins, then add in the oil bit by bit and knead until not sticky. Took me around 25mins. Roll into the desired shape you want. I roll out into round shape and put inside my silicon case, which I place inside the steamer. Steam for 10mins.

 

Leave a Reply

