Mini Hot Cross Buns

B2

The kopitiam loaf is finished!

Zann asked for mille crepe and cheesecakes but I wasn’t so keen. No space in my fridge to put the cheesecake. I prefer to bake bread. Ian likes bread too.

Alright. I promise I will do cakes soon.

B1

I never tried a hot cross bun from bakery before. Both Zann and myself are so tempted to the buns from Cedele each time we pass by.

This time, I followed 爱和自由, whose recipes never failed me.

Starter dough

bread flour 30g ( I used Blue Jacket AP flour)
milk 150g ( warm up the milk)
sugar 7.5g
instant yeast 5g (last to add in)

Combine all and set aside to proof for 1 hour.

Main dough

bread flour 270g (I used Blue Jacket AP flour)
butter 45g
sugar 45g
salt 2.5g
all spice powder 1 tsp
egg 30g
orange peel 40g

Combine the starter dough and the ingredients for the main dough, except butter. Rub in the butter and continue to knead until window pane stage. Set aside to proof 1-2hr. Divide the dough into 40g each and space them out on a lined tray (20x20cm).

Meanwhile, prepare the cross to pipe out later. Mix the 40g low protein flour with 12g oil, gradually add in water and mix into a thick paste.

Pipe out the paste over the buns. Bake in preheated oven at 190d for 20mins.

 

Leave a Reply

