Custard Milk Bread

IMG_3026

I finally used up the paper moulds (which I bought a year ago), meant for cakes, I supposed. But I decided to use them on my bread instead. To make a hole at the centre, I placed the chwee kueh moulds on top  during the second proofing. Just to get the desired shape I had in mind. lol  Somehow, it worked.

 

1_B

Recipe (makes 6)  [adapted from 跟爱和自由一起做面包]

bread flour 250g
active dry yeast 3g
sugar 50g
salt 3/4 tsp
egg 50g
milk 110g
unsalted butter 50g

usual way of bread making. Proof twice. Shaped to a round ball, each weigh around 70g. Fill in the desired types of fillings and bake in preheated oven at 180d for 20mins.

 

Custard fillings

egg yolks 3
sugar 75g
low protein flour 25g
milk 250ml
unsalted butter 10g
vanilla extract (1 drop)

beat egg yolk (add in 1/2 sugar) until pale in colour. Mix in sifted flour. Set aside.  Cook the milk + remaining sugar until slight warm. Off heat. Add in the yolk + flour mixture bit by bit until well combined. Sieve and pour back into the pot and stir over low heat until mixture becomes smooth. Off heat. Add a drop of vanilla extract and butter. Set aside to cool down for later use.

** You can use your desired fillings. I wanted to make egg pudding initially but changed my mind. 😀

 

Leave a Reply

