Banana cake (with walnuts and coffee powder added)

wcake

Do u agree that knowledge should be freely shared or kept to yourself even when asked for it? 

For me, sharing and experimenting are some reasons why I love to cook and bake for family and friends.

I felt  that  it was horribly rude especially when asked so many times but the other party acted blur and refused to share. Seriously, don’t understand why. I am very disappointed in that person. Ah well…never mind..

Decided to make this cake from a mag I dug out from my collection. I didn’t follow exactly, still the cake turned out moist but with little coffee flavour. Maybe I added not enough.. 

 

Recipe (adapted from Simply Her)

150g cake flour ( I used wholemeal flour) 
2g double acting baking powder, sifted
5g baking soda, sifted
80g unsalted butter
150g castor sugar
240g bananas, peeled and cut into small cubes
2 medium eggs
68ml milk ( I used low fat milk) 
100g peanut butter (I omitted)
100g whipped cream (I omitted) 
roasted chopped peanuts (to garnish)  (I omitted) 

I added  2tsp coffee powder mixed with 1tbsp warm water, and 60g chopped walnuts 

In a mixing bowl, combine cake flour, baking powder and baking soda. Set aside. Use an electric mixer, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the bananas and then eggs, one at a time, until well incorporated. Slowly add in the flour, then the milk. Line an 8-inch cake tin w baking paper and grease it. ( I used 7-inch square cake tin). Bake in preheated oven at  180d for 30mins. Fold the peanut butter with whipped cream and spread it on top of the cake. ( I omitted this. I blended 50g walnuts and mixed with 50g butter,using fingertips  to create crumbles)

 

Leave a Reply

