Kuih Talam Ubi (Tri-colours tapioca steamed cake) 三色木薯糕

use1

It’s so difficult to find tapioca at my neighbourhood unless I really have to go wet market. Last weekend, Hub saw a few tapioca at the market and quickly bought three big ones for me. Because he wanted me to make his fav steamed tapioca cake with coconut milk. But I changed my mind. I decided to make Kuih instead. 

This is my first kuih attempt. Making these tri natural colours tapioca cake is tedious, with lots of work to prepare, but it’s so worth it. At least a learning  experience for me. 

 

Recipe (tweaked and adapted from Nasi Lemak Lover)

I use an 8′ inch round cake tin

Tapioca layer

350g tapioca, grated
200g coconut milk
3og sugar
2tbsp plain flour
1/2 tsp salt

Combine all the ingredients and spread the paste into the cake tin. steam over high heat for 10mins.

 

Sweet Potato layer

140g purple sweet potato (steamed and mashed)
1tbsp corn flour
75g tapioca flour
50g sugar
70g coconut milk
100g water

Combine all the ingredients and pour into the cake tin after the tapioca layer is done. Steam for 15mins.

 

Pandan layer

3tbsp plain flour
2tbsp corn flour
1tbsp tapioca flour
2 eggs
60g sugar
125g pandan juice (blended using  1o pandan leaves)
180g coconut milk

Combine and stir all the ingredients. Strain the mixture into a bowl. Place the bowl over a simmering water to cook. Stirring continuously  until thickens. Remove from heat and pour into the cake tin after sweet potato is done. Steam further for 20mins. Cool and chill before cut.

 

Note: I reduced the sugar from the original recipe, and I still find the kuih sweet. I replaced rice flour with corn flour.

 

Leave a Reply

