Cheesy tomato beef pie

3_

I hardly make pie and other types of puffs-like pastry. Because it’s a lot of work and washing for me.

Well, today I decided we will have pie for lunch since I am so sick of the usual rice and noodle. By the way, I cook everyday although I seldom post. This beef pie took me 2 days to prepare. I did the pastry crust one day in advance. Easier for me so I can take care of baby conveniently.

Baby Ian had his separate beef pie as well and he loves the combination of cheese and tomato.

 

1

Recipe

fillings

tomatoes 2 big ones
onion
garlic
tomato puree 100g
beef 220g
salt 1/2 tsp
mozzarella cheese 150g
olive oil

Boil the two tomatoes in a saucepan to soften, cut into cubes and set aside.

Add olive oil, put in garlic and onions and stir fry. Add in the tomatoes and tomato puree. After that, add in beef and continue to cook until gravy dries up a bit. Stir in 1/3 of the mozzarella cheese. Put in the filling into the crust and add remaining cheese on top. Bake at 210C for 15min.

 

Pastry crust

Cake flour 150g
salt 1/4 tsp
unsalted butter 65g
egg 30g
cold water 20g

Sift the flour into a bowl. Add in unsalted butter. Use hand to mix together into crumb like texture. Add egg and cold water. Slowly knead to form a soft dough. Chill the dough for at least 30mins. (I left it in my fridge overnight)

 

Leave a Reply

