Black Sesame Chiffon Cake

use_

 

I love Black. Other than charcoal powder, black sesame paste is another favourite! I wanted to bake something from the sesame paste I have just bought. But other than chiffon, I can’t find anything suitable from my cookbook. Black Sesame ice cream? Erm, I will try that next time . Okay, this time I baked for my aunt. I wanted her to bring back my bake and remember me….haha. Actually, I feel happy knowing that someone enjoy eating my bakes..which I don’t mind baking twice a day..or thrice a day….if you understand why. Do you ? 

 

Recipe (adapted from Okashi Sweet Treats made with Love)

Top flour 70g
Egg yolks 5
Brown sugar 20g
Black Sesame paste 20g
Water 60g
Canola oil 40g
Black Sesame seeds 20g

Castor Sugar 90g
Corn flour 10g
Egg whites 180g (5 eggs)

Preheat oven 180C. Sift flour once.

Combine egg yolks, brown sugar and sesame paste in a bowl and mix well. Add water and oil and blend together. Add flour and fold in sesame seeds. Batter will become sticky.

Make meringue. Combine sugar with corm flour. Beat egg whites until foamy. Add half of the sugar and corn flour mixture, continue to beat for a few minutes, add remaining sugar and corn flour mixture and beat till stiff peak.

Add 1/3 meringue into the yolk mixture and fold in lightly. Add remaining meringue and fold again. Do not over mix. Pour batter into 20cm chiffon cake tube pan. Bake 40mins. Remove from oven and turn the pan over. Leave cake to cool.

 

Leave a Reply

