Butternut bread loaf with chia seeds 奶油瓜奇异籽吐司

2

Hand knead Butternut bread loaf. Kneading takes 30mins for me. Now that I make our own bread, we hardly buy bread from the bakery shops. Unless I am too tired to make. 😀

 

1_

It’s tiring to hand knead, I must admit. But making your own bread from the start to finish is an aesthetic pleasure. The satisfaction is even greater when you feed your family healthy homemade bread loaf.

 

4

 

Again, I cut the slices unevenly again. Need to remind myself to get a proper bread knife.

 

3

 

Recipe (adapted from  原味 — Carol 100道无添加纯天然手感面包 pg 168) 

 

Pumpkin Puree (I used butternut to replace) 200g
Bread flour 280g
Instant dry yeast 3/4 tsp
sugar 15g
salt  1/4 tsp (I actually forgot to add)
Olive oil 30g

Assorted nuts (I replaced with chia seeds)  60g

 

Peel off  the pumpkin skin and steam. Take out 200g and blend into puree, set aside.

Bake assorted nuts for 7-8mins at 150C. (I didn’t bake my chia seeds, I merely added them into the dough)

Add all the ingredients. Pour the oil bit by bit until the dough is formed. Continue to knead until the dough turns elastic and non-sticky.

Roll onto the chia seeds and spray water onto the dough, set aside in the warm place to proof for 60mins. (I proof for 120mins)

Pour some bread flour onto the work surface to manage dough easily. Punch out the air, divide the increased (risen) dough into 2 portions, each 290g. Rest 10mins.

Roll the dough into 40cm, turn 90 degree and flatten and roll again (like a swiss roll). Repeat for the other dough.

Put both doughs into the bread tin and spray water onto the surface, set aside in the warm place to proof for 60-70mins or until they have risen double.

Bake in preheated oven of 210 degree C for 38mins.

Remove bread from tin immediately once done and cool completely on a cooling rack before slicing.

 

Leave a Reply

