Piggy Mooncakes (小猪月饼)

This year, I never thought I would bake moon cakes, since I know I would be busy with baby Ian. But then, it’s weird celebrating Mid Autumn Festival without moon cakes…So I decided to bake the piggy mooncakes for the kids. And this year’s Mid Autumn Festival is Baby Ian’s first. So really must bake and let him try abit of the piggy mooncakes. 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Zann told me these piggy looked scary especially the eyes part. I didn’t really notice. I find them cute though. But abit out of shape. I didn’t really follow the recipe. Instead I used coconut oil and honey for baby’s sake. Zann helped to shape the ears and the nose. 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 


Recipe (adapted and tweaked  from  Nasi Lemak Lover).

150g plain flour
90g agave syrup
38g coconut oil

I added 1/4 tsp baking soda (optional)

Add syrup and oil together, mix well. Add into the sifted flour and baking soda. Mix together to become dough. Set aside for 40mins, covered. Divide the dough to 5 portions, each 50g. Divide the filing to 5 portions, each 70g. Set aside the leftover  dough to make nose, ears and tail. Put onto the baking tray, bake at 170C for 10mins, take out and brush with egg. Put back and continue to bake for 15-20mins. Wait for 2-3 days for the moon cakes to soften.

But Zann and hub didn’t wait, they had one each after that.

 

Leave a Reply

