Happy 1st Birthday, Baby Ian !

It’s finally one full year, a year of bittersweet memories. Ian will be turning one in a few hours time. I am feeling abit as I am typing this. My mind is like replaying from my pregnancy days to labour pains, and the struggles to take care of him at home. It’s never easy. I thought I will sink into depression as  a SAHM. But I manage to cope as everyday pass. And I begin to understand that it’s ok to struggle. There’s a lot for me to learn and understand as Ian grows. I pray for the wisdom and the strength in this journey of parenthood.

didi

I know I am blessed, from day one, to have him in our lives. Be blessed, baby boy!

 

IMG_0815

 

2

 

IMG_0810

 

3 layers of sponge cake, covered with purple sweet potato and swiss meringue buttercream. Took me 3 hours to finish this cake.

Recipe for the sponge cake ( I used 6″ cake tin) 

Eggs 3
Sugar 70g
cake flour 90g
butter 35g  (melted using double boiler)

Beat egg till foamy. Add sugar and beat until thick and pale, at ribbon stage. Add sifted flour. Take some batter and mix with melted butter and then add back to the original batter. Use spatula to fold gently. Bake at preheated even for 15mins at 180C, after the cake has rise, change the temperature to 150C, and bake for 10-15mins.

Note: I only have 1 cake tin, so I have to bake x3.

 

Swiss Meringue Buttercream 

100g egg white (3)
120g sugar
227g unsalted butter, soft and cold

Remove butter from fridge and cut into small cubes. Set aside. Lightly whisk egg white in mixing bowl, place over simmering water. Add sugar in 3 batches, whisk till sugar dissolved. Rub with finger to test if it’s grainy. Remove from heat, and continue to whisk (handheld mixer) till stiff peak. Place bowl of  meringue on top of large bowl with ice cubes. Add in butter one by one and continue to beat Beat till curdle. Take spatula and fold in until smooth. Add colouring as desired (Optional)

Note: I used grated sweet potato to wrap around the cake.

 

Leave a Reply

