Black sesame brownies

 

Brownies. I love those chocolate brownies. But wait, nobody like chocolate except me. Sigh. Which is why I seldom bake chocolatey stuff. It’s always like that, cos I can’t finish so much chocolate by myself.

But I crave for chocolate all the time, especially that period of the month. heh.

When I saw this recipe online, I decided to bake this sesame brownie. Black sesame, my favourite and everyone can eat without  sore throat worries.

1

Recipe  (adapted from here)

80g unsalted butter (room temp)
40g sugar (I used 20g cos sesame paste is sweetened).
2 egg yolk
40g black sesame paste
1/4 tsp soy sauce
1 egg white
10g castor sugar
50g plain flour
1/4 tsp baking powder
1 tbsp black sesame seed

Cream butter with electric mixer on low speed  until colour lighten and add 20g sugar. Add yolk one by one, fully blend.Before each addition. Add sesame seed paste and soy. In clean bowl, beat egg white with remaining sugar (10g). Use hand mixer to beat until egg turns white fluffy.

Combine with sifted flour and baking powder. Add half  meringue into black sesame mixture and half flour mixture. Use rubber spatula fold and combine. Further beat meringue until stiff, then add into black sesame mixture along with remaining flour and baking powder. Fold and combine. Add mixture into cake tin, sprinkle sesame seed on batter. Bake 15 min at 150c.
Note: This is a cakey brownie, which I am fine with. Except for the colour. I will add more sesame paste  next time. I prefer more black)
Leave a Reply

