Wholemeal bread loaf with oats

bread1

Our family cannot do without bread. Even baby Ian loves to eat bread. Baking bread is like a nemesis to me. How to bake that perfect loaf of bread ? How to know when it’s ready to push into the oven…and that proofing and waiting time for it to rise ?  And I have no bread maker.  No space to put so I refused to buy even though Hub wanted to get me one.

I changed my mind. Because of baby Ian. I want to bake my own bread instead of buying those enriched breads with emulsifiers. It’s not good for baby.

And so, I tried.

 

bread2

I love my bread with nutella. 

Recipe (from my little recipe notebook I kept. Forgot from where)

1 cup boiling water
1 cup rolled oats
2 cups plain flour
1/4 cup water
2 tbsp canola oil
2 tbsp brown sugar (I replaced with white sugar)
2 1/4 tsp dry yeast
pitch of salt

In  a small bowl, pour boiling water over rolled oats. Stir to combine and set aside for it to cool down. Combine flour, water, oil. sugar, yeast and cooled rolled oats. Use stand mixer with hook or hand, knead 10mins. Knead until the mixture turns wet and sticky dough. Keep and set aside in a warm place for 90mins or until size doubled. After that, punch it down. Knead on the floured surface for 3mins. Put inside the loaf pan 8x4inch. Sprinkle with cinnamon (optional) and wait for the dough to rise. (90mins) Bake in the preheated oven at 180C for 30mins.

** I didn’t wait long during the last proofing stage. Cos I was so sleepy when I baked this bread. I learnt my lesson. Bread baking should be in the day. Heh.

Leave a Reply

