Parmesan cheese chiffon cake

1

It’s not difficult to pronounce 帕玛森起司戚风, but it took me awhile to understand what it means as I was reading through the book. My chinese not that good but I still prefer  chinese cookbook. It offers so much details and varieties to choose.  I have to use google translate when I see some words I don’t understand.

 

2

I love the aromatic smell when I baked this chiffon cake.  It turned out light and fluffy, much to my delight.

 

51

 

7

They are very addictive. I had 2 slices and now left with 4 slices. So fast. Got to control myself.  Heh.

 

Recipe adapted from 戚風無限 by 曾美子  (17cm cake tin) 

3 egg yolks
vegetable oil 40g
fresh milk 75g
parmesan cheese powder 50g
cake flour 70g
sugar 10g (I reduced the sugar amount)

4 egg whites
sugar 40g
pinch of salt (I omitted)

Method

Hand whisk egg yolks and sugar till pale. Add in milk, stir to combine. Add in oil, stir to combine. Add in sifted flour and cheese powder, combine well and set aside. Do not over mix.

Beat egg whites (low speed) until mixture turns frothy. Slowly add in sugar and beat till soft peak form. Take  1/3 portion of egg white mixture to mix with egg yolk mixture till combine. Fold the balance of egg white mixture into egg yolk mixture and combine well. Pour cake mixture into baking pan and bake at preheated oven at 170C for 25min.

** I didn’t add in baking powder, or maybe I should add next time to see the effect.

 

Leave a Reply

